Premier League Golden Boot Shared After Aubameyang, Mane And Salah Tie On 22 Goals

It has been goals galore in the Premier League this season as Manchester City claimed a second successive title.

Liverpool were not far behind, falling just a point short – and in the Golden Boot standings, four players finished on over 20 goals this year.

It has actually been shared between Mohamed Salah, Sadio Mane and Pierre-Emerick Aubameyang.

The Egyptian was looking to retain his title, but failed to get on the scoresheet for Liverpool against Wolves.

Mane instead ensured the Reds ended the season with a win, getting a double.

Meanwhile, Arsenal’s Aubameyang netted twice to guarantee fifth for the Gunners.

That leaves all three players on 22 goals and will share the award.

The Premier League top scorer award has been shared three times since 1997.

Carlos Tevez and Dimitar Berbatov both claimed the prize with 20 goals in 2011.

Yet, it was a three-way tie in 1998 and 1999.

Chris Sutton, Dion Dublin and Michael Owen drew when Arsenal were champions.

A year later, Owen Dwight Yorke and Jimmy Floyd Hasselbaink were victors, needing just 18 goals to claim the award.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s