FIFA The Best Awards: Stars Arrive For Ceremony With Mohamed Salah, Luka Modric And Cristiano Ronaldo Nominated For Top Awards At Bash In London

He will be challenged strongly by fellow nominee Luka Modric, who reached the World Cup final with Croatia in the summer

The great and good of the footballing world have started arriving at London’s Royal Festival Hall for FIFA’s The Best awards.

Now in their third year, the awards ceremony honours footballers in seven categories.

As well as the top award, won by Luka Modric ahead of Cristiano Ronaldo and Mohamed Salah,, winners will also be named for Puskas goal of the year, Best Fifa goalkeeper, men’s coach, women’s coach, fan award, fair play award and FIFPro World XI.

Chelsea playmaker Eden Hazard pulls on his best suit for FIFA's The Best Awards at London's Royal Festival Hall

Modric was in attendance with his family, wife Vanja and children Ivano and Ema as he vied for the top award of the night

Known for his outlandish style, PSG full-back Alves looked suitably resplendent with Joana Sanz on the green carpet

Despite his World Cup achievements for France  and Paris Saint-Germain in Ligue 1, Kylian Mbappe is not a top nominee

Former Arsenal boss Arsene Wenger is one of the first attendees to arrive at the event

Sporting snazzy headwear and a sharp pin-stripe suit, Ronaldinho certainly made a bold entrance on Monday night

Having turned out for Arsenal, West Brom and Portsmouth in his playing days, Kanu is now fully committed to charity work

After a stunning debut campaign with Liverpool, Mohamed Salah is on the shortlist for the night's main award

Among those present for the event are England boss Gareth Southgate and Paris Saint-Germain full-back Dani Alves, who shared a word as they were entering the venue.

Two former long-serving England keepers also attended, with David Seaman and England’s record cap holder Peter Shilton taking time to pose for photos with their partners.

Clint Dempsey, who retired from football in August aged 35, was another big name in attendance at The Best Awards, which are in their third year after FIFA’s five-year association with the Balon D’Or ended.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s