PFA Team Of The Year 2018 Dominated By Manchester City As Five Stars Make The Cut While Mohamed Salah And Harry Kane Also Feature

Sergio Aguero is one of five Manchester City stars to make the PFA team of the year 2018

Manchester City dominate the PFA Premier League Team of the Year, with five players featuring in the star-studded line-up revealed on Wednesday.

Pep Guardiola’s men were crowned Premier League champions last weekend, and a big group of their title-winning squad have been rewarded for a stellar campaign.

Right-back Kyle Walker, centre-back Nicolas Otamendi, midfielders David Silva and Kevin De Bruyne all make the cut, and they are joined by striker Sergio Aguero.

Liverpool's Egyptian star Mohamed Salah, with 30 league goals this season, was also included

Harry Kane, the Tottenham striker, makes the team after another impressive goalscoring term

Surprisingly, it is the first time Aguero has made the team of the year — which is voted for by fellow Premier League players — despite his consistent performances for the Eithad Stadium outfit.

The former Atletico Madrid man joined City in 2011 and has registered a staggering 143 top-flight goals, helping them to three titles.

His exploits include a last-minute winner against Queens Park Rangers in 2012, a goal which dramatically secured City’s first Premier League title — and he has been deservedly rewarded for scoring 21 league goals this term.

Later on Wednesday afternoon, Aguero tweeted: ‘I’m very happy and proud to be part of The PFA Premier League Team of the Year. Thanks #PFAawards! Congratulations to my teammates!’

Tottenham were the only other team to have more than one representative, boasting three players in defender Jan Vertonghen, midfielder Christian Eriksen and striker Harry Kane.

Manchester United’s only inclusion was goalkeeper David de Gea, while left-back Marcos Alonso was the sole player from dethroned champions Chelsea.

It's no surprise that Kevin De Bruyne features, following a hugely impressive season with City 

Liverpool’s Mohamed Salah, with 30 league goals this season, was also included.

There was, though, no recognition for any Burnley players, despite them enjoying a fine season and challenging Arsenal for sixth place, which could yet see them secure European qualification.

City duo De Bruyne and Silva are shortlisted for the PFA’s Player of the Year award, along with club-mate Leroy Sane after all three helped Guardiola’s side win the Premier League.

Kane, Salah and De Gea are also nominated, with the winner set to be announced at the PFA’s annual awards ceremony in London on Sunday, April 22.

Manchester City dominate the PFA  Team of the Year, with five players featuring in this line-up

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s