Who Should Win PFA Player Of The Year?

Who will win Player and Young Player of the Year?

WHICH players are favourites to win the PFA Player of the Year award?

The six nominees for this year’s PFA Player of the Year award – handed to the best player in the Premier League over the course of the season – were revealed on Saturday.

Manchester City have three men in the running; as Kevin De Bruyne, Leroy Sane and David Silva were all named in the final six.

They join Liverpool winger Mohamed Salah, Manchester United goalkeeper David De Gea and Tottenham striker Harry Kane on the shortlist.

The winner will be announced at the 45th PFA Awards in London on April 22nd.

Kevin De Bruyne has admitted that Liverpool’s Mohamed Salah is “probably going to win” the PFA Player of the Year award.

The Manchester City midfielder said earlier this month that he thought he deserved to be named the Premier League’s best player, though he also praised Salah and later said he even voted for his Egyptian rival.

But speaking to American broadcaster NBC Sports after City’s 3-1 win at Tottenham, De Bruyne said that the honour is not likely to come his way.

Asked if Salah should win, De Bruyne said: “Yeah, I think if you can choose nobody from our team, I think he deserves it.

“Probably he’s going to win it anyway. He’s been remarkable and to compete with somebody that’s scored that many goals, you’re not going to win.

“I’m very satisfied with my performances this year, with the team.”

Players are not allowed to vote for themselves or their teammates, so De Bruyne was left with few choices.

However, the Belgian said that if that rule was not in place, he would have voted for David Silva, who has been granted time away from the club in recent weeks after his son was born prematurely in December.

“For me, I think if I could vote personally, I would vote for David,” De Bruyne added. “The situation he had this year with his little son and been always away, no training, and performed the way he did, it’s been incredible.

“But if Salah get it, he deserves it as well.”

Who do you think will scoop the prestigious prize?


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s